For Women Who Are ‘Difficult’ to Love

Produced and Edited by: Pumla Kalipa

Inspired by poet, Warsan Shire’s poem For Women Who Are ‘Difficult’ to love this piece focuses on strong women and wrestles with the idea of femininity being docile in a patriarchal space.

This piece perfectly ties in with Shire’s poem as I reflect on my personal experience of being in a relationship that was built on power dynamics and constant power struggles, which inevitably saw it coming to an end before I even knew it. As a result of my tragic experience, I decided to produce a short and honest piece that attempts to address oppressive ideas on what femininity ‘should’ be in patriarchal spaces.

patriarchy.jpg
Photo: Face2Face Africa

As a South African national, I live in a space that not only condones patriarchy, but also fosters it through tradition and culture which highlights docility, conformity and fragility in the female body. As you will see, this cheeky piece subverts all of these ontologies and encourages women to be whatever the hell they want to be. After all, ‘You can’t make homes out of humans’ now can you?

I filmed this piece with a P2 camera and also made use of a DSLR camera in some scenes. I edited the piece with Adobe Premiere Pro and sourced the gentle yet eerie lullaby like song from a royalty free site.

Leave a comment